Thursday, July 31, 2008

Kina (2000) Kina

This extremely impressive debut album manages to combine elements of R&B, alternative rock, and singer/songwriter confessional pop without any seams showing. Kina can belt like a soul singer or sound as introspective and vulnerable as a folkie, though her dominant lyrical persona here is a sort of feel-good self-empowerment. As the biting opener "Girl from the Gutter" proves, she's as unafraid to tell off a former lover as Alanis Morissette. The meltingly lovely romantic ballad "Give and Take" is a highlight. So are "Insanity," Kina's unlikely hip-hop update of the Ramones' "I Wanna Be Sedated," and "Hurt So Bad." The latter starts as a sort of twisted a cappella song, with Kina singing all vocal parts, and shifts gear halfway through with a great roar of grungy guitars.

Download this album via ZSHARE:

Track Listing
1. Girl From the Gutter
2. I Love You
3. Have a Cry
4. Stop
5. Give and Take
6. Me
7. U Don't Know
8. Loser
9. Hurt So Bad
10. Insanity
11. Still Here

1 comment:

XOEL said...

Hi omg im lookin 4 this!
but the link isn´t work do you have another plaase? could you re-up?
thanks in advance