Tuesday, July 29, 2008

Britney, Mariah, Usher, Lil Wayne Earn MTV VMA Nods

MTV has announced the nominees for best female and best male video for the 2008 MTV Video Music Awards, with Britney Spears, Mariah Carey, Usher and Lil Wayne all receiving nods.

The nominees were determined by fan voting at vma.mtv.com or by texting via Verizon Wireless phone; two new categories will be open for voting each week through the end of August. The current categories accepting nominations are best hip-hop video and best pop video.

The Video Music Awards will be held Sept. 7 at 9 p.m. on the Paramount Pictures lot in Los Angeles. Russell Brand, co-star of "Forgetting Sarah Marshall," will host the show.


Britney Spears, "Piece of Me"
Jive/Zomba Label Group
Director: Wayne Isham

Jordin Sparks, "No Air"
(Jordin Sparks with Chris Brown)
Jordin Sparks
19/Jive/Zomba Label Group
Director: Chris Robinson

Katy Perry, "I Kissed A Girl"
One Of The Boys
Director: Kinga Burza

Mariah Carey, "Touch My Body"
Island Def Jam Music Group
Director: Brett Ratner

Rihanna, "Take a Bow"
A Good Girl Gone Bad
SRP/Def Jam
Director: Anthony Mandler


Lil Wayne, "Lollipop"
Tha Carter III
Cash Money Records/Universal Motown
Director: Gil Green/D. Carter

Chris Brown, "With You"
Jive Records/Zomba
Director: Erik White/Chris Brown

Usher, "Love In This Club"
(Usher featuring Young Jeezy)
Here I Stand
LaFace Records/Zomba Label Group
Director: The Brothers Strause

T.I., "No Matter What"
Paper Trail
Grand Hustle/Atlantic Records
Director: Self/James Lopez

Flo Rida, "Low"
(Flo Rida featuring T-Pain)
Step Up 2 The Streets Original Soundtrack/ Mail On Sunday
Poe Boy Ent./Atlantic Records
Director: Bernard Gourley

No comments: