Saturday, August 16, 2008

We Started Nothing (2008) The Ting Tings

British duo the Ting Tings make fun, immediately likeable music that combines elements of indie rock, dance music, and singsong mainstream pop. If the band's full-length debut, WE STARTED NOTHING, contained only their delicious singles "That's Not My Name," "Great DJ," and "Shut Up and Let Me Go," it'd be worth picking up, but the entire album seduces with its ragtag bubblegum smarts. The Ting Tings reference the 1980s (their aesthetic falls somewhere between that decade's underground dance music and Toni Basil's "Mickey"), but their clever, patchwork sensibility will also appeal to 21st-century postmodernists. One of the best pop debuts of 2008, WE STARTED NOTHING is pretty irresistible, but who would want to resist?

Download this album via ZSHARE:

Track Listing
1. Great DJ
2. That's Not My Name
3. Fruit Machine
4. Traffic Light
5. Shut Up And Let Me Go
6. Keep Your Head
7. Be The One
8. We Walk
9. Impacilla Carpisung
10. We Started Nothing

No comments: