Sunday, August 24, 2008

I Care 4 U (2003) Aaliyah

This collection of tunes by the late R&B siren Aaliyah serves double duty as a greatest hits package and a rarities compendium. While the first half of the disc reaches back to Aaliyah's previous albums and snags some of their most memorable songs ("One in a Million," the title track, etc.) the second half consists of previously unreleased material that admirably extends the legacy of a talented young artist whose bright flame was snuffed out far too early. Hearing the old songs again, it's striking how successfully Aaliyah's sensual but feather-light voice interacts with Timbaland's always-inventive production. On the new tracks, the arrangements are a bit more straightforward and predictable (no Timbaland, you see), but Aaliyah's strong vocal presence still rides atop each one with equal amounts of delicacy and authority.

Download this album via megaupload:

Track Listing
1. Back & Forth
2. Are You That Somebody?
3. One in a Million
4. I Care 4 U
5. More Than a Woman
6. Don't Know What to Tell Ya
7. Try Again
8. All I Need
9. Miss You
10. Don't Worry
11. Come Over - (featuring Tank)
12. Erica Kane
13. At Your Best
14. Got to Give It Up - (remix)

No comments: