Thursday, June 12, 2008

Flower (1998) Jody Watley

Jody Watley's popularity dipped drastically in the '90s, forcing her into the position of making her Atlantic debut, Flower, something of a comeback record. Watley decided to go all the way with the record, hiring an all-star cast of producers -- Malik Pendleton (SWV, Mary J. Blige), Phil Galdston (Vanessa Williams), Masters at Work, Dwayne Wiggins (Tony! Toni! Tone!), Derek Edmondson, Bryce Wilson (Groove Theory) -- that help bring her sound into the mainstream of the late '90s. Flower presents a more mature Watley, one more concerned with well-crafted, seductive urban soul than dance-pop. It's an attractive sound and, surprisingly, her vocals are rich and nuanced, giving the music the treatment it deserves; she's never sounded better or more assured. Since Watley and the production are both alluring, it's a shame that the songs aren't deserving of such loving treatment. Only a handful of cuts, such as the Pendleton-produced single "Off the Hook," are actually strong, memorable songs, but that doesn't hurt the album considerably because the sound of the record is appealing on its own terms.

Download this album via MEGAUPLOAD:

Track list:

1. "Lovin' You So" (R. Patterson) - 3:37
2. "Flower" - 4:02
3. "Off the Hook" (Cassandra Lucas) - 4:14
4. "Everything You Do" - 5:13
5. "Just One More Time" - 4:49
6. "If I'm Not in Love" - 3:45
7. "A Lifetime" - 4:02
8. "No More Tears to Cry" - 4:00
9. "You'll Never Find a Love" - 4:16
10. "I Don't Want You Back" - 4:00
11. "Baby Tonight" - 3:54
12. "16" - 2:57
13. "Off the Hook" [D-Dot remix featuring Rakim] (Lucas) - 4:03

No comments: