Friday, December 5, 2008

This Is Me Then: The Best of Common (2008) Common

THIS IS ME THEN: THE BEST OF COMMON surveys the early career of the Chi-town artist formerly known as Sense. Drawing from his first three albums (CAN I BORROW A DOLLAR, RESURRECTION, and ONE DAY IT'LL ALL MAKE SENSE), this collection of 15 classic tracks gives a picture of Common's stylistic evolution. The earliest, first-album cuts show us an MC whose high-energy, conspicuously squeaky tongue-twister vocals and comedic subject matter mirrored a variety of hip-hop acts of the day (Das Efx, Redman, et al.). The RESURRECTION tracks mark a clear turning point--a move away from light-hearted content towards poetic maturity. "I Used to Love H.E.R.," with its airtight extended metaphor, remains one of the most poignant hip-hop songs of all time. By album three, Common had garnered respect from the likes of De La Soul and A Tribe Called Quest, and his work heralded the arrival of a new kind of conscious super-MC, capable of speaking from the heart on subjects such as street crime ("Stolen Moments"), abortion ("Retrospective for Life"), religion ("G.O.D."), and coming to terms with one's adolescent past ("Reminding Me (of Sef)"). THIS IS ME THEN also includes the rarely heard "High Expectations" from the soundtrack to the 1997 film SOUL IN THE HOLE.

Download this album via ZSHARE:

Track Listing
1. Take It Ez
2. Breaker 1/9
3. Soul by the Pound
4. Charms Alarm
5. Heidi Hoe
6. I Used to Love H.E.R.
7. Book of Life
8. Resurrection
9. Thisisme
10. Retrospect For Life - (with Lauryn Hill)
11. Remidning Me (Of Sef) - (with Chantay Savage)
12. All Night Long - (with Erykah Badu)
13. G.O.D. (Gaining One's Definition) - (with Cee-Lo)
14. Stoplen Moments Pt.III - (with Q-Tip)
15. High Expectations

1 comment:

Dub said...

Hmmm, got me intrigued